top of page

Meet our 2020 JRSAA Scholars!

It was an unusual final two and a half months for the high school seniors in Santa Clarita Valley. Despite the challenges brought about by the pandemic, the Scholarship Committee of the Fil-Am Association of SCV, Inc. moved on with their search for candidates for the Jose Rizal Scholastic Achievement Awards (JRSAA), and were not disappointed. The Scholarship Committee is headed by Dr. Verna Marty-Argüelles, with Ms. Zony Gordon, Ms. Liza Lieberman, Mr. Arnold Magpantay, and Ms. Jessica Arima as members.

Every year, the Fil-Am Association recognizes high school seniors for their achievements in school and in community service. This year we selected ten JRSAA Scholars from quite an impressive group of Fil-Am high school senior applicants. The following students are the 2020 JRSAA Scholars: Allyson Asis (Golden Valley), Jeremy Bischoff (Learning Post), Christian Gutierrez (West Ranch), Ashley Kua (Trinity Classical), Julianna Lozada (Valencia High), Mindy Mello (Golden Valley), Keri McWilliams (Trinity Classical), Danielle Nalangan (West Ranch), Noah Ropp (Hart High), and Katelynn Zara (Golden Valley).

Of the ten scholars, the following made it to the top three: Ashley Kua, first place; Jeremy Bischoff, second place; and Noah Ropp, third place. The top three scholars received $1,500.00, $750.00, and $500.00 respectively.

On behalf of the Fil-Am community of SCV, the Scholarship Committee and the Fil-Am Association of SCV would like to congratulate all the JRSAA scholars and applicants, and the graduating class of 2020!

We are so proud of you, and wish you the best in your future goals!


bottom of page